#UDLChat 2/5/2020

Table of Contents

Universal Design for Learning (UDL) Guidelines

The second‌ ‌twitter‌ ‌chat‌, I‌ ‌prepared‌ ‌my‌ ‌responses‌ ‌in‌ ‌advance‌ ‌using‌ ‌the‌ ‌posted‌ ‌questions. ‌I‌ ‌took‌ ‌about‌ ‌30‌ ‌minutes‌ ‌before‌ ‌the‌ ‌session‌ began ‌typing out‌ ‌my‌ ‌responses‌ in a Google Doc to check my grammar ‌and‌ ‌character count to ensure‌ ‌it would‌ ‌fit‌ ‌into‌ ‌one ‌tweet for each answer.‌ ‌To use the proper format, I‌ ‌copied‌ ‌the‌ ‌questions‌ ‌and‌ ‌pasted them‌ ‌into a‌ ‌list within the document,‌ ‌and‌ ‌as‌ ‌a‌ ‌sublist‌ ‌point,‌ ‌I‌ ‌placed‌ ‌in‌ ‌my‌ ‌A[#‌] ‌and‌ ‌the‌ ‌#UDLChat‌ ‌hashtag‌ ‌to‌ ‌post‌ ‌appropriately.‌

In this‌ ‌session, I had decided to try TweetDeck to keep the information automatically updated ‌during ‌the‌ ‌Twitter‌ ‌chat. ‌I was pleased with the tool. It allowed multiple columns with different details to keep track of likes and comments for my responses, the #UDLchat hashtag, personal messages, and my timeline. I arranged them in a way I felt would work best for me. I kept my smartphone close by, just in case the power went out.

The topic for the session was “Collaboration: It’s a UDL Thing.” It was most certainly a collaborative session this time around. People were commenting, asking about how I would address the ice breaker activity for shy people in an in-person session. I was happy that I prepared my answers in advance so I could answer the comments I received. I learned that the traditional ice breaker activities are not received well, but many of the participants suggested other methods to encourage learners to collaborate and engage. The general response to the question “Q2: Collaboration can cause anxiety. How do you reduce emotional barriers to collaboration with your learners? What about with your peers? #UDLchat” was modeling appropriate expectations and setting clear guidelines. Reflecting on these responses makes sense, ice breakers may already make a shy person distant, but if the instructions are clear, they could still be shy and shine with their strength in the group by focusing on a specific role and goal.

Responses

Collaboration: It’s a UDL Thing.

Q1: You’re planning an activity with your learners. Describe the teams you picture working together. How are the teams arranged? What roles do your learners take? How involved are you in the team-making process?

Q2: Collaboration can cause anxiety. How do you reduce emotional barriers to collaboration with your learners? What about with your peers/colleagues?

Q3: How do you feel after collaborative work sessions? What strategies help you and your teammates have a successful experience? How do you share this with your learners?

Q4: Part of successful collaboration involves giving and receiving feedback, and often we learn most from feedback that challenges our assumptions. How do you help your learners learn from challenging feedback? What about yourself?

Question Source

UDLchat February 5, 2020 Question Source

Twitter Chat Archive

UDLchat February 5, 2020 Twitter Chat Archive (Wakelet)

UDLchat January 15, 2020 (PDF)

Steven Kolberg
Steven Kolberg
Senior Coordinator of Accessibility and LMS Administration

My research interests include instructional design, web accessibility, computer programming, and education.

Related