Photo from M.SaaS

#UDLChat 2/19/2020

Table of Contents

Universal Design for Learning (UDL) Implementation Process

Reflection

I was caught a bit off guard with this Twitter session. Fortunately, I set up the remind app and got a notification 10 minutes before it began so I could prepare my responses quickly into a Google Doc. I found that the use of TweetDeck was effective in keeping the content refreshed and had not had much time to explore other alternatives. Because it worked well for the second session, I decided I would continue using it for future sessions on my desktop computer.

One thing I enjoy about the #UDLchat Twitter session is that the questions are available in advance. They post the questions days before, providing enough time to really reflect or prepare minutes before. But what I realized after this session is the timing after the moderator posts a question is not relevant. Of course, to get the answer out there and have it seen readily by the participants, the answers should be posted before the half-hour session ends. But the posts will be seen after the session and commented on, liked, and ultimately contribute to the community. As I continued to grow my personal learning network (PLN) through Twitter, I noticed many of the participants I followed also did other chats. I found myself liking their comments and communicating with them more often. #ATChat, another Twitter chat session, is one that I hope to participate in in the future.

I felt knowledgeable about the topic of implementation but wanted to see the opinions of the other participants. I contributed my experience of utilizing UDL as a means of promoting accessibility within online and in-person courses. As always, these sessions, watching webinars, taking classes, and reading more on topics I have some knowledge always lead to me learning better phrasing and something new. The drive for many of the participants, including myself, was to increase multiple means of engagement and representation. Many good practical experiences were shared. The post I think I learned most from was the following:

Responses

#UDLChat: Implementation Conversations with Bryan Dean

Q1: What was your change catalyst either in your classroom or district as a whole and why UDL?

Q2: What initial steps did you take to begin designing for a more UDL environment?

Q3: What was one of your biggest systemic barriers (vision, skills, incentives, resources or an action plan) to overcome as you began? How did you overcome it or are you still struggling with it?

Q4: What words of advice would you share with educators new to this implementation process.

Question Source

UDLchat February 19, 2020 Question Source

Twitter Chat Archive

UDLchat February 19, 2020 Twitter Chat Archive (Wakelet)

UDLchat February 19, 2020 (PDF)

Steven Kolberg
Steven Kolberg
Senior Coordinator of Accessibility and LMS Administration

My research interests include instructional design, web accessibility, computer programming, and education.

Related